Friday, November 21, 2014

The 13th Gift - A True Story of a Christmas Miracle by Joanne Huist Smith - What a fabulous read!

9780553418552 (134×202)

The 13th Gift

A True Story of a Christmas Miracle

Wow I loved this book from the first chapter.  By the end of the book I was wishing I had money and the means to start something similar for families of loss myself.  This book is true, and it rings so true to me. Families do have a very real and very dysfunctional way of dealing with loss of a loved one and going on during the holidays is often something they just can’t pull off.  Some can’t face the holidays going forward due to the loss, it only seems to remind them.  For anyone who has lost a loved one, or anyone trying to recapture that feeling of Christmas this book is for you!  How could you continue with the feeling of Bah Humbug when you read of someone who lost their husband, brother, father, during the holidays and managed to pull themselves together with the help of their “True Friends”.  This book just brings joy and happiness to your heart upon reading it and makes you want to be a better self and go out and help someone who has less!  "I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review."

More About The Book:

For readers of Richard Paul Evans and Greg Kincaid comes The 13th Gift, a heartwarming Christmas story about how a random act of kindness transformed one of the bleakest moments in a family's history into a time of strength and love.

After the unexpected death of her husband, Joanne Huist Smith had no idea how she would keep herself together and be strong for her three children--especially with the holiday season approaching. But 12 days before Christmas, presents begin appearing on her doorstep with notes from their "True Friends." As the Smiths came together to solve the mystery of who the gifts were from, they began to thaw out from their grief and come together again as a family. This true story about the power of random acts of kindness will warm the heart, a beautiful reminder of the miracles of Christmas and the gift of family during the holiday season.

About The Author: Joanne Huist Smith is a native of Dayton, OH. She earned a bachelor's degree in English at Wright State University and worked as a reporter for the Dayton Daily News. She is the mother of three and grandmother of two.