Monday, June 27, 2016

Ways to Win Books To Read / Reviews of Books I've Won!: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton - A Thriller I gave fi...

Ways to Win Books To Read / Reviews of Books I've Won!: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton - A Thriller I gave fi...: Wow this was a great read!  It started out with the main character Lily who was taken as a child and held by a trusted man, for years she ev...

Baby Doll by Hollie Overton - A Thriller I gave five stars to! Great read!

Wow this was a great read!  It started out with the main character Lily who was taken as a child and held by a trusted man, for years she even delivered a child, Sky, fathered by him while she was locked away.  The book starts with her finding out the forgot and left the house unlocked.

She runs out of the house, goes back for her daughter and  as she leaves the house, she finds how close she has been to her home all those years.  This book wasn't just about what happened to Lily while she was taken and held but is also about what happened to her Mother, family, twin sister the impact of this for years has taken a toll on many.  The book starts by telling how she gets away but more not only what happened to her while she was held against her will, but also what happened to each of the people in her life.  A fantastic read, a fast read you won't want to put it down.  I really loved the story!

Description as found on Good Reads:
Baby Doll
by Hollie Overton (Goodreads Author)

For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, Baby Doll is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.

This is what happens next... her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter...and to her captor

Saturday, June 25, 2016

Love is Come (Power of the Matchmaker) written by Heather B. Moore - Five Stars on this one!

I didn't know when I started reading this book that it was a part of a series.  It wasn't the first book in the series.  I never felt that I was missing any parts told in previous books which was great it says a lot about the book.  This book is set in the Victorian period.  Nelle Thompson has an idyllic life until her parents are both killed in an accident.  She has to find some where to go until she receives her inheritance.  She decides to go to the country and move in with her cousin and her daughter.  Her cousin tells her that she has to keep a ledger of every single expense she costs her, so that she can claim her money back when Nelle comes into her money.  That was a shock!  She finds later that her cousin is living barely within the means of those around her.  She really needs the money.  Nelle makes assumptions that change.  She sets off one day to go to town and she meets Matthew.  They hit it off right away.  He helps her find her way to town and she ends up meeting a woman by the name of Pearl.  (I see from other notes on this book that Pearl was also in the first book).  Pearl is a matchmaker.  Nelle has no idea what Pearls roll is in things beyond having an unusual shop where she gives Nelle some powdered tea.......The book just goes to show that they were living in much simpler times back then.  Life wasn't ever easy though if a young woman was on her own without a husband or parents.  Nelle ends up falling for Matthew only to find that he is the man her cousin has been planning to marry for years.  I won't spoil it for you!  The book is a fast read and I liked the authors writing.  

I received the book in exchange for an honest review.  I really loved this book! 

Description found on Good Reads: **Amazon Top 50 in Victorian Romance** 
“I have to remind myself to breathe—almost to remind my heart to beat.” —Wuthering Heights 

From the Power of the Matchmaker series: LOVE IS COME 

Nelle Thompson lives a life of privilege during the turn of the century New York City. When her parents are killed in a terrible accident, she’s forced to live with her aunt’s family in a small town in Connecticut, and treated as a poor relation with no financial independence. Broken hearted and riddled with insomnia, Nelle’s health begins a downward spiral. When a locked part of her heart blossoms around her cousin’s fiancĂ© Mathew Janson, Nelle doesn’t know if she can endure one more heartbreak. Miss Pearl, owner of the local apothecary shop, becomes a mother figure to Nelle, but a fateful summer day has Nelle questioning everything she's ever believed and wondering if she’ll ever love again.

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Unbreak My Heart by Nicole Jacquelyn - A fast read!

This book was a fast read.  The characters were very real and the story was believable.  I enjoyed reading it.  It kept me involved in the story line.  I wanted to find out what happened to the characters.  A soldier who marries a girl whose best friend thinks he is her soul mate but it wasn't she he chose to marry.  Then when he is off fighting, serving his country, his wife finds that she can't take care of the children on her own.  She asks her friend for help which she willingly gives her at peril her own home and work.  She gives up much to help her friend and each year brings another child and the man goes off to fight or work for the military. He has no idea why this girl is always at his home when he comes home.   He doesn't treat her very well so she leaves the house and the kids that have become very like her own, they have her heart as does he which he doesn't know.  The wife dies in an accident and the man has no one to watch his children.....the story goes on! 

I was given this book in exchange for an honest review!

Here is the information as found on Good Reads: What do you do when your soul mate marries your best friend?

If you're Kate Evans, you keep your friend Rachel, bond with her kids, and bury your feelings for her husband. The fact that Shane's in the military and away for long periods helps-but when tragedy strikes, everything changes.

After Rachel, pregnant with her fourth child, dies in a car accident and the baby miraculously survives, Kate upends her entire life to share parenting duties. Then on the first anniversary of Rachel's death, Kate and Shane take comfort in each other in a night that they both soon regret.

Shane's been angry for a year, and now he feels guilty too - for sleeping with his wife's best friend and liking it . . . liking her. Kate's ability to read him like a book may have once sent Shane running, but their lives are forever entwined and they are growing closer.

Now with Shane deployed for seven months, Kate is on her own and struggling with being a single parent. Shane is loving and supportive from thousands of miles away, but his homecoming brings a betrayal Kate never saw coming. So Kate's only choice is to fight for the future she deserves - with or without Shane. .

Thursday, June 9, 2016

Remember The Ladies by Gina L. Mulligan -- A Fascinating Read

Wow!  The book starts out with Amelia Cooke growing up in an orphanage, and how she follows a man she met who works as a lobbyist and followed him around until he finally gave in and listened to her she wanted to do what he did.  She had learned as much as she could and she had a knack for never forgetting people's names or the names of their wives or children.  That helped him a lot so he took her in and started training her, later in the book, he has died, and she was hired by the National Women's Suffrage to lobby for them to convince all of the voting Senators to vote for women to get the right to vote.  How she went about doing what she did for them, and descriptions of how the men did things in this book,  I can see how it is probably true that men and women in the Senate now probably do things the same way.  I found the book engrossing, following Amelia from a small child until she was one of the only female lobbyist's who wasn't always welcome among the men.  I think most anyone would find the story very interesting and it is definitely a fast read!  Loved the book.

Description of book as found on Good Reads: Growing up in an orphanage prepared Amelia Cooke for the high-stakes role of a female lobbyist surrounded by the egos of the 1887 Congress, a time before women had the right to vote. Her success in the isolating male arena comes from using the tactics she’s learned from those who oppressed her. So when she’s hired by the National Women’s Suffrage Association to help pass a proposed constitutional amendment granting women’s voting rights, Amelia feels empowered to at last win a place for herself and give all women a voice in the world. What she doesn’t foresee is the charismatic and calculating Senator Edward Stillman who threatens to ruin her hard-earned reputation and end her career.

Ways to Win Books To Read / Reviews of Books I've Won!: Dead Running by Cami Checketts - A Thrilling Novel...

Ways to Win Books To Read / Reviews of Books I've Won!: Dead Running by Cami Checketts - A Thrilling Novel...: Wow!  I couldn't put this one down.  It had me from the first page....all the way to the end.  I really love Cami Checketts writing, t...

Dead Running by Cami Checketts - A Thrilling Novel! Five Stars!

Wow!  I couldn't put this one down.  It had me from the first page....all the way to the end.  I really love Cami Checketts writing, this is the second book of hers that I have read and I can't get enough!
I read a lot of romance books, all types, this was a change from those although there was some romance in it. There was also suspense, danger, surprises, lots of characters, the gal Cassidy Christensen doesn't get the names of everyone she calls them descriptive names and they stick, like "Hot Redhead" she didn't like that gal, she was annoying and always in the way.  In addition to two hot men pursuing this gal, and some bad men she couldn't seem to shake at times.  There were many characters and they were really all a part of a well woven mystery that came down to Cassidy Christensen's family her Mom and Dad who had been killed.  They were a part of why they had been killed and what they had been doing in Mexico, it wasn't what Cassidy thought they went there to do.
Seems everything that she knew about her family members was all messed up.  Secrets to be revealed when you buy this great book and read it!
I received this book through a drawing I believe the author sent it to me in exchange for an honest review and she knew it would be going to the little library where my Mom volunteers her time when I was done with it.  Two benefits in one!

Here is the description of the book as found on Good Reads: Cassidy Christensen is running. Running from the mercenaries who killed her parents. Running from a scheming redhead intent on making her life miserable. Running from painful memories that sabotage her dreams of happiness. With two very tempting men competing for her attention, she hopes she'll finally have someone to run to, but can she trust either of them? When secrets from her past threaten her family, Cassidy decides to stop running and fight for her future. A light-hearted suspense with a side of PG-rated romance, Dead Running will have you lacing up your running shoes and impatiently waiting for the sequel. "Dead Running was everything I was hoping it would be, captivating, invigorating, and a page turner that I could not, would not, put down! Cami Checketts writes books that will make you think, and make you feel. She captivated me with The Sister Pact, and doesn't lose speed with her newest "must read," Dead Running." Sheila DeChantal Book Reviewer - Book Journey "Brilliant characterization, edge-of-your-seat suspense and a touch of humor make Dead Running a rare treat..." Wendy Davy Award winning author of Deadly Chase