Friday, January 23, 2015

Hope Crossing: The Complete Ada's House Trilogy, includes The Hope of Refuge, The Bridge of Peace, and The Harvest of Grace / My Review / Five Stars on this one!!

Hope Crossing by Cindy Woodsmall

Hope Crossing: The Complete Ada's House Trilogy, includes The Hope of Refuge, The Bridge of Peace, and The Harvest of Grace

 My review: I've probably read Cynthia Woodsmall's stories at one time or another although I don't remnember doing so.  From the time I opened the first book in this trilogy of three books in ome, I couldn't seem to put the book down.  I love to read about the Amish I find their way of life fascinating.  There are many Amish who live in the same town as my Grandmother and when there I see them with their horse and buggies coming and going quite often.

Cynthia Woodsmalls' books gave me another glimpse into their lives.  The book wasn't something I could put down easily.  I found myself picking it up for a few pages to read before bedtime and then putting off going to bed or doing whatever else I should have been doing and instead reading.  

She takes you into her books and involves you right into the stories.  You feel as if you know the characters, or at least want to know as much as you can about them, their lives and you want to keep reading to find out how she is going to end each story, and in this case, you don't have to end it, as their are three books and you can get started right where the last one ended.

 Only from the beginning of each book, other characters in the same towns paths crossing each other so you feel as though you are reading on about old friends as each book unfolds to the next.  The books are rich in the characters faiths, as well as their doubts with their faith in some cases and the problems their lives cross over, problems that happen to the non-Amish  as well so that makes these characters seem even more believeable.  I do wish I had as much faith and could remain as steadfast in my faith of what is to come as they are.  I think at times by reading books such as these, their doubts and challenges and the solutions that come their way help me in some small way as I enjoy their stories.

Warning, if you are a person who has problems holding on to books of great weight, this book is pretty heavy.  I found that I would be sitting at my table reading there or in bed anywhere that I could prop the book open to keep reading.  I should have chosen to read the kindle version as this is pretty hard on the hands and wrists for someone with arthritis problems.

I received a copy of this book from “Blogging For Books” in exchange for a fair review.

More About The Book

Hope Crossing: The Complete Ada's House Trilogy, includes The Hope of Refuge, The Bridge of Peace, and The Harvest of Grace
by Cindy Woodsmall (Goodreads Author)
Hope Crossing…where Ada’s House stands as a haven for weary souls looking for kindness, faith, and second chances.

The Hope of Refuge:

Two very different women are pulled by their strongest desires. Deborah Mast joined the Amish church and longs to marry her fiancé, but he is changing. Cara Moore is forced to look into a life that was meant to be hers. Will Ada’s House help them realize their hearts’ desires or will it force them to accept what life has done to each of them?

The Bridge of Peace:

Living out her passion for teaching, Lena Kauffman’s work is suddenly interrupted by a series of pranks and accidents targeted toward her and her students. When tragedy strikes her dear friend Grey Graber’s family on school property, the school board begins to blame her for the trouble. As grief and confusion take their toll on Grey and Lena’s friendship, they are both forced to face a new reality that may offer the peace and love they each long for.

The Harvest of Grace:

Fleeing a terrible mistake, Sylvia Fisher dedicates herself to saving the failing Blank farm. When prodigal son Aaron returns, he is surprised by this unusual farmhand who opposes all his plans. Will Aaron and Sylvia’s unflinching efforts toward opposite futures mask the bigger picture—a path to forgiveness, grace, and the promise of love?
This three-in-one collection includes the entirety of the best-selling Ada’s House trilogy, now at a new low price

More About The Author:

Cindy Woodsmall

Cindy Woodsmall
Cindy Woodsmall is a New York Times and CBA best-selling author of numerous works of fiction and one of nonfiction. Her connection with the Amish community has been featured widely in national media. She lives in the in the Foothills of the North Georgia Mountains with her family.